Prompt

When it comes to writing it appears that when faced with a blank page the writer should look to a “prompt” in order to get the creative juices flowing.  I’m in the midst of six fiction projects and one non-fiction travel project.  Why on earth would I need to look to some random descriptive scenario in order to “prompt” the application of word to paper?

Should a somewhat different definition of “prompt” be applied to my writing routine?

1. Being on time; punctual.
2. Carried out or performed without delay: a prompt reply.
3. To move to act; spur; incite: A noise prompted the guard to go back and investigate.
4. To give rise to; inspire: The accident prompted a review of school safety policy.
5. To assist with a reminder; remind.
6. To assist by providing the next words of a forgotten passage; cue.

Okay. So, every morning I will punctually write a prompt that will incite me to remember where I was when I last wrote.

I’m good to go.

**********

Muse:  I don’t see “kick in the pants” listed in the definition above?

Categories: Writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

