Morning Pages

I have a copy of The Artist’s Way, A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron .

I’ve had this book for awhile, since it was first published in 1992. I pull this book off the “now what” shelf of my writer’s library when I’m…stuck. About three months ago I lovingly referenced this book, once again. I opened the book to page one and began to read. I vowed that this time I would finish the program because, I confess, I have never read any further than Task #1, page 37.

“Every morning, set your clock one-half hour early; get up and
write three pages of longhand, stream-of-consciousness morning writing.
Do no reread these pages or allow anyone else to read them. Ideally, stick
these pages in a large manila envelope, or hide them somewhere.
Welcome to the morning pages.”

True to my personality, I don’t exactly follow the directions. I keep my Morning Pages in a nicely bound journal. I keep the journal out on a table on my porch where I have my coffee every morning. Every once in awhile I re-read what I’ve written. My use of the Morning Pages subsides once I get going with my writing, but when I need them again, when things slow down, I return to my journal and begin again.

Ms. Cameron says that the Morning Pages will change you. She is so right. I am changed by what I write in my Morning Pages. My most recent change is reflected in my discovery of what MOTIVATION means! Yes!!!

And I am changed in that I now see the value of my timeline exercise. I now understand that I need to take my timelines to the next level. I need to read them closely and reflect upon them in terms of how/what my characters were feeling and why they did what they did that caused these events to occur. My timelines are the best way for me to connect with my characters. I know that my timelines are important. They are NOT a waste of time.

Muse: Why don’t you keep reading this book?
Me: I don’t have time. I’m too busy writing.

Categories: Writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

