Words…Must…Be…Used

The other night I was sitting with my six-year old grandson while he was taking a bath. He loves a hot bath. He rolls around with his assortment of rubber ducks that look like knights, a few Imaginext soldiers and several sharks and he talks…and he talks and talks and talks…incessantly. I just sit and listen. Occasionally I get a word or two in but typically…he does the talking.

Instinct tells me that he needs this time to just – get it all out – especially after he’d come home that afternoon to report that he’d gotten his second “red light” that week (and it was only Wednesday!) for excessive talking. Sigh.

So, as I sat there listening to the evening’s stream-of-consciousness I couldn’t help but appreciate the fact that, as his teacher pointed out, my six-year old grandson has a lot of words to use and he is determined to use them. I know just how he feels.

Writers have words (words and words and words and words…) that must be used.  The words race around the brain and beg to be spilled out onto a page – somewhere, anywhere.   Sometimes I feel like I’ll just BURST if I don’t use them!

Muse: How about spilling a few words into your book?

 

Categories: Writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

